The Call Center Supervisor Wannabe

“I cannot be like this forever… I want to be someone someday!”

Hi, my name is Marco and I was a customer service representative (CSR). I have been like that for two years and I thought that I had enough of my daily work routine. When I was an CSR , every time I enter the office I have to go to my station, log in on my tools and then I have to…

“Hello there! This is Marco at your service! Ohhh I understand your point do not worry I have everything under control here and… I see.. Do not worry I can help you out with… I understand that you would like to speak with my supervisor. Please give me a minute and I will connect you over to him.”

What a great routine, yes? Though I do not really get supervisory calls every time, my point was; I have to get out of that routine, I want something different, I do not want to take calls forever, I do not want answering queries or talking to irate callers day after day. I have been doing those for the past two years and I had enough. I figured out why not apply as a supervisor if there will be a job posting about it?

I had a small conversation with my supervisor. I thought that it was the perfect opportunity for me to tell him what I want. He told me that since there were no job posting about it as of that time, I can start preparing for it. Reason behind the preparation was for me to answer the situational questions that will be thrown during the interview for the job posting.

And here is how I prepared for the big day.

• Passing all my metrics – In order for me to help out my direct reports with their performance, I should be a performer myself. Knowing how to pass my own will help out in sharing ideas on how to help out someone else to pass theirs.

• Start being nice to everyone – This is important because if ever you get promoted the people you are with right now most likely be the one you are going to assist. Having a good work relationship with them can make things easier for you whenever you instruct them to do some thing or whenever you ask them to follow your lead. Do not think like you need to be nice rather you want to be nice.

• Answering the question “Why do you want to be a supervisor?” – It can be the most common question to be asked however this is the most difficult one… well that’s for me. I found it hard given the situation that I just want to get out of my daily routine. Finding the answer somehow leaded me to wanting to really become a supervisor. Focus on what supervisors do and turn in to your want. Since one of the role of a supervisor is to develop people then your answer can be “I would like to help out developing employees using the experiences that I have.” Well, not totally like that but I guess you get my point on it right? 😀

• Practicing STAR Approach – Practicing how to answer using the STAR approach is the most important part of the preparation. STAR approach is a type of format on how you should be answering a situational question. This helps out in laying the information you have towards the interviewer in a more detailed way.

– S = Situation – Whenever you answer a situational question always start with terms like… There was a time or I had this experience… Example: There was a time when I got a team mate who was not passing his call handling time of 18 minutes.

– T = Task – This will be the all about what you wanted to achieve. You have to make sure that you give out specific details on what you achieve based on the situation you have presented. Example: There was a time when I got a team mate who was not passing his call handling time of 18 minutes. My goal is to help him out in lowering his call handling time from 19 minutes to 18 minutes by the end of the month.

– A = Action Plan – This is all about your ideas or what you should do in order to perform the task you have. You have to be specific with the details on how did you come up with it or you have to lay down all the steps you need to do to perform the task. This usually starts with, what I have done was or in order for me to… Example: There was a time when I got a team mate who was not passing his call handling time of 18 minutes. My goal is to help him out in lowering his call handling time from 19 minutes to 18 minutes by the end of the month. In order for me to make it happen I started observing him on how he take calls. I have to do this in order for me to determine what can be the possible reason why his call handling time was high. I found out that he had the tendency to ask the same information like email addresses repetitively. I found out that he does not use phonetics whenever he clarifies the information his customers are providing which makes him ask the information again and again. I helped him out by providing him a simple spiel like “Can you please spell out your email address in phonetics please” then when he clarifies the information he should be clarifying it like “Just to clarify is it “M for Mike, A for Alpha, S for Sierra, Tango, E for Echo and R for Romeo?”.

– R = Result – This is where you will be telling them about the action plan that you have. It will be best if you can provide specific figures of the result. Example: There was a time when I have a team mate who was not passing his call handling time of 18 minutes. My goal is to help him out in lowering his call handling time from 19 minutes to 18 minutes by the end of the month. In order for me to make it happen I started observing him on how he take calls. I have to do this in order for me to determine what can be the possible reason why his call handling time was high. I found out that he had the tendency to ask the same information like email addresses repetitively. I found out that he does not use phonetics whenever he clarifies the information his customers are providing which makes him ask the information again and again. I helped him out by providing him a simple spiel like “Can you please spell out your email address in phonetics please” then when he clarifies the information he should be clarifying it like “Just to clarify is it “M for Mike, A for Alpha, S for Sierra, Tango, E for Echo and R for Romeo?”. As a result my team mate’s call handling time improved. It went down from 19 minutes to 17 minutes and 50 seconds in a span of two weeks which exceeded the standard goal of 18 minutes.

It may sound easy doing these, I myself thought of the same way but this requires effort and a lot of practice. It took two months of waiting before the job post for the supervisory level came out. That being said I practiced two wonderful months for it. The moment I learned about the job posting I have been proactive in letting my supervisor know that I would want to have that post. This way he will know that I really wanted the post.

Then the big day has come to announce the passers for the post and to make the story short, I have passed. Now I have one goal and that is for me to be the best supervisor out there. If before I have to compete to reach the top, now I have to compete with my team with me to reach the top. Will I be successful, will I be not? I am not really sure but I know that as long as I keep wanting it then there will be no limits for me.

Thank you for reading, again this is Marco and I do hope that you become successful as well with your path in becoming someone someday:)

Author: masterhowto

I am a master of everything. You wanna be one as well? Then follow my path. :D

Leave a Reply

